Category Archives: books

typicalbooks 26 – Wild Fell – by Michael Rowe – Gothic horror novel review

A haunting Canadian horror story, set in the wilds of Northern Ontario in a deliriously haunted mansion. A mansion on an island no less. Rowe weaves a superb tale that is far more deep than a simple ghost story. I tend to read a good selection of Canadian authors – not only because I am one and many live close but because their stories speak to me more clearly when I could reach out and touch the settings they choose.

Pick up a copy here http://amzn.to/2DK6XPi

And a copy of Allucinor: Element of Romance, with my short story ‘Model Hearts’ at http://amzn.to/2mjYGZR

Thanks!

A PSA – Toronto Police are searching for information on the death of Tess Richey. See the surveillance image of the last person to see her in November 2017, and if you have any information contact police right away – http://ift.tt/2Bm5kbW

~~~

Suggest a book! I like violent and visceral horror. Comment here or at http://twitter.com/typicallydia or find my email address on http://nightface.ca

subscribe if you simply want to creep along and watch. thanks!

~~~

I cover books I have read that have taught me something about my own writing or were printed in an atypical way. Sometimes, I just have something to say about typicalbooks.

Find my work, Nightface, Pray Lied Eve 2, and other fiction at http://nightface.ca or my Amazon author page http://ift.tt/2j3lJXS

if you want to hear more of my voice, listen to myself and Wes ‘Dead Air’ Knipe on the Dead Air Podcast at:
http://ift.tt/2pCSjor

~~~

The perfect thunderclap by Acclivity was found at Freesound http://ift.tt/nE9Tb5 thank you!

All excerpts used for review purposes only, with all respective copyright retained by original owners.

Filming, editing and all other black magic by Lydia.

via https://youtu.be/ayAsN-UQsME
Please share, subscribe, and read horror!

typicalbooks 25 – The Snowman – by Jo Nesbo – Crime novel review

While not a horror novel, The Snowman by Jo Nesbo is a dark crime story set in the backdrop of chilly Norway. There are no serial killers in Norway, according to inspector Harry Hole’s counterparts, yet he is determined to track down and stop a killer that fits the bill. Fans of Seven, Silence of the Lambs and Citizen X will like this revolting romp and you can see why crime and horror sometimes share the same shelf.

Pick up a copy here http://amzn.to/2mjHWSz

And a copy of Allucinor: Element of Romance at http://amzn.to/2mjYGZR

Thanks!

A PSA – Toronto Police are searching for information on the death of Tess Richey. See the surveillance image of the last person to see her in November 2017, and if you have any information contact police right away – http://ift.tt/2Bm5kbW

~~~

Suggest a book! I like violent and visceral horror. Comment here or at http://twitter.com/typicallydia or find my email address on http://nightface.ca

subscribe if you simply want to creep along and watch. thanks!

~~~

I cover books I have read that have taught me something about my own writing or were printed in an atypical way. Sometimes, I just have something to say about typicalbooks.

Find my work, Nightface, Pray Lied Eve 2, and other fiction at http://nightface.ca or my Amazon author page http://ift.tt/2j3lJXS

if you want to hear more of my voice, listen to myself and Wes ‘Dead Air’ Knipe on the Dead Air Podcast at:
http://ift.tt/2pCSjor

~~~

The perfect thunderclap by Acclivity was found at Freesound http://ift.tt/nE9Tb5 thank you!

All excerpts used for review purposes only, with all respective copyright retained by original owners.

Filming, editing and all other black magic by Lydia.

via https://youtu.be/kS1xirR_2Kc
Please share, subscribe, and read horror!

typicalbooks 24 – My Friend Dahmer – by Derf Backderf

My Friend Dahmer by Derf Backderf is a great and short primer on the early years of this most vile serial killer. There are loads of documentaries, podcasts and books that cover the crime but this graphic novel has the singular angle of being written by what would be considered one of his rare friends in high school. A fascinating study in how appearances aren’t all they seem, but also how hindsight can warp that to show what darkness was always there in plain sight.

Pick up a copy here http://amzn.to/2Diikwq

A PSA – Toronto Police are searching for information on the death of Tess Richey. See the surveillance image of the last person to see her in November 2017, and if you have any information contact police right away – http://ift.tt/2Bm5kbW

~~~

Suggest a book! I like violent and visceral horror. Comment here or at http://twitter.com/typicallydia or find my email address on http://nightface.ca

subscribe if you simply want to creep along and watch. thanks!

~~~

I cover books I have read that have taught me something about my own writing or were printed in an atypical way. Sometimes, I just have something to say about typicalbooks.

Find my work, Nightface, Pray Lied Eve 2, and other fiction at http://nightface.ca or my Amazon author page http://ift.tt/2j3lJXS

if you want to hear more of my voice, listen to myself and Wes ‘Dead Air’ Knipe on the Dead Air Podcast at:
http://ift.tt/2pCSjor

~~~

The perfect thunderclap by Acclivity was found at Freesound http://ift.tt/nE9Tb5 thank you!

All excerpts used for review purposes only, with all respective copyright retained by original owners.

Filming, editing and all other black magic by Lydia.

via https://youtu.be/-t25d69uY4k
Please share, subscribe, and read horror!